Lesli Linka Glatter Elected DGA President; Officers and Board of Directors Also Elected

Paris Barclay portrait by Jeff Mosier

September 18, 2021

Los Angeles — Director Lesli Linka Glatter was elected President of the Directors Guild of America by acclamation by the delegates at the Guild’s National Biennial Convention held today at DGA National Headquarters in Los Angeles.

Lesli Linka Glatter has a long history of Guild service. She has been on the Guild’s National Board since 2003, most recently as First Vice-President, and before that as Fifth Vice-President. She’s been a member of three BA/FLTTA Negotiating Committees including the most recent which achieved another leap in made-for-SVOD residuals as well as gains in wages, pension contributions, and TV creative rights. She was also on the historic COVID-19 Return to Work Committee establishing safety protocols that got the industry back up and running, and set the gold standard. Her service as a member or alternate of the Western Directors Council, a member of the Creative Rights Committee, and on the PAC Leadership Council spans two decades. Glatter joined the DGA in 1985.

Additionally, 160 delegates representing more than 18,000 members of the DGA elected a new slate of officers and members of the National Board of Directors.

“I am honored to have been chosen by my peers to serve as President, and am committed to continuing our Guild’s great legacy of protecting the economic and creative rights of our members—always with our eye on the future” said Glatter. “And there is nothing that makes me more hopeful about our future than looking around at this formidable, profoundly creative and incredibly diverse Board representing the future of this industry. I am blown away by their generosity of spirit and dedication to serving their fellow members, even as they juggle such demanding and successful careers. In these times of great technological and cultural change, we stand ready to take on the challenges that lie ahead. And just as we have throughout our 85-year history, together we will prevail.”

“It has been a tremendous privilege serving as President over these past four years. And I am equally proud and thrilled to pass this baton into Lesli’s extraordinarily capable hands,” said outgoing President Thomas Schlamme. “Lesli is a powerful force in the industry, and she’s brought that same energy to the service she’s dedicated to our Guild over the past two decades fighting for our members’ rights. She is so uniquely suited to lead us into the future.”

“Through the years, as Lesli advanced to higher Guild roles, she always took the time to really understand how everything works. She is a true leader, a mentor to so many, and the right person to represent us all at this time,” said Betty Thomas when placing Glatter’s name into nomination.

“The reason the DGA works so well is because it is led by active working members. Despite a demanding career at the top of her game, Lesli’s commitment to this Guild has never wavered—she always shows up,” said Paris Barclay.

Lesli Linka Glatter is a Director of film, network, and premium cable television drama, with both pilots and episodes to her credit. Lesli’s TV work includes The Morning Show, Homeland, The Newsroom, The Walking Dead, Justified, Ray Donovan, Masters of Sex, True Blood, Mad Men, The Leftovers, The Good Wife, The West Wing, NYPD Blue, ER, Freaks and Geeks and Twin Peaks. Lesli has also directed numerous pilots including Gilmore Girls, Pretty Little Liars and SIX. Her films include Now and Then, The Proposition and for HBO, State of Emergency. She is currently attached to direct the feature adaptation of Ashley’s War for Universal Pictures.

Lesli has been a Producing Director for the last 20 years, and most recently, was the Executive Producer/Director of the award-winning series Homeland. She began her directing career through the American Film Institute’s Directing Workshop for Women, in which her film Tales of Meeting and Parting was nominated for an Oscar. Lesli has been nominated for 8 Directors Guild of America (“DGA”) Awards, most recently winning her third DGA Award for directing the Homeland series finale, having won twice before for Mad Men and Homeland. Lesli has received 8 Emmy nominations, and was nominated for a Humanitas Award for HBO’s State of Emergency. Lesli is currently developing projects for Netflix, Amazon, Apple, Epix and HBO.

Lesli recently signed a first look with Universal Television and formed Backyard Pictures with her producing partner, Cheryl Bloch. She is currently directing and executive producing Love and Death written by David E. Kelley and starring Elizabeth Olsen for HBO Max.

In addition to her work at the DGA, Lesli serves on the Executive Committee of the Directors Branch of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She is also an advisor at the Sundance Institute’s Director’s Lab. She has been committed to mentoring for many years including for the DGA Director Development Initiative – and most recently helped develop the successful NBC program, Female Forward.

Lesli has received the Caucus Foundation Award, the Dorothy Arzner Directing Award from Women in Film and the Franklin Schaffner Award from the American Film Institute, as well as an Honorary Degree from the American Film Institute.

Prior to her work as a director, Lesli was a modern dance choreographer who worked throughout Europe, Asia and the U.S.

The following officers were elected to serve alongside Glatter: Mary Rae Thewlis was re-elected National Vice President; Paris Barclay, a past-DGA president, was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Also elected were First Vice-President Betty Thomas; Second Vice-President Ron Howard; Third Vice-President Barry Jenkins; Fourth Vice-President Seith Mann; Fifth Vice-President Ava DuVernay; Sixth Vice-President Lily Olszewski; and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Joyce Thomas.

Complete List of 2021-2023 DGA Officers and National Board Members

  • President – Lesli Linka Glatter
  • National Vice-President – Mary Rae Thewlis
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Paris Barclay
  • Assistant Secretary-Treasurer – Joyce Thomas
  • First Vice-President – Betty Thomas
  • Second Vice-President – Ron Howard
  • Third Vice-President – Barry Jenkins
  • Fourth Vice-President – Seith Mann
  • Fifth Vice-President – Ava DuVernay
  • Sixth Vice-President – Lily Olszewski

Board Members

  • Jon Avnet
  • Norberto Barba
  • Karen Gaviola
  • Julie Gelfand
  • Duncan Henderson
  • Todd Holland
  • Nicole Kassell
  • Kathleen McGill
  • Christopher Nolan
  • Millicent Shelton
  • Steven Spielberg

Alternate Board Members

  • Kabir Akhtar
  • Mary Lou Belli
  • Laura Belsey
  • Hanelle Culpepper
  • Nora Gerard
  • Michael Goi
  • Maggie Greenwald
  • Anthony Hemingway
  • Michael Mann
  • Annetta Marion
  • Don Mischer
  • Jonathan Mostow
  • Edward Ornelas
  • Kimberly Peirce
  • Matthew Penn
  • Bethany Rooney
  • Oz Scott

Associate Board Members

  • Scott Berger
  • Valdez Flagg
  • Courtney Franklin
  • Louis J. Guerra
  • Shawn Pipkin-West

Second Alternate Board Members

  • Lee Blaine
  • Mimi Deaton
  • Kevin Koster
  • Dennis W. Mazzocco
  • Thomas Whelan
  • Canella Williams-Larrabee
DGA Communications Department (310) 289-5333