Focus on Women Committee Co-Chairs Elected

FOWC Co Chairs

December 24, 2020

Directors Maggie Greenwald and Annetta Marion and Associate Director Joyce Thomas have been elected as Co-Chairs of the Focus on Women Committee (FOWC).

Director Lily Olszewski, UPM Debra S. Kent and Stage Manager April Smith have been elected Director, AD/UPM and AD/SM/PA category representatives, respectively. Director Yoruba Richen has also been elected as the Alternate Co-Chair.

Maggie GreenwaldDirector Maggie Greenwald
Greenwald’s filmography includes the features Sophie and the Rising Sun, The Ballad of Little Jo and the Sundance Film Festival Grand Jury prize-nominated features Songcatcher and The Kill-Off. She also helmed the movies for television What Makes a Family, Tempted, Comfort and Joy, Get a Clue, Christmas on Honeysuckle Lane and Good Morning, Killer. Her recent forays into episodic directing include episodes of Madam Secretary and Nashville. A DGA member since 2000, Greenwald is an alternate of the DGA National Board, a member of the Eastern Directors Council and previously served as a chair of the Focus on Women Committee.

Annetta MarionDirector Annetta Marion
Marion is an award-winning director and Primetime Emmy-nominated showrunner who for the last decade has dedicated her life to the craft of making premium television and cultivating a taste for stories that both entertain and inspire. Annetta has created roughly 70 hours of premium television over the past decade. Her work spans high-end branded content, scripted comedy and drama, true crime series for Investigation Discovery and VH1, multi-cam episodes for NBC, and docs-series / specials for OWN, MTV, Netflix, Quibi, NASA and FaceBook; working with talent like Oprah, Nicki Minaj and Dwayne Johnson to aspiring actors to “real people.” A DGA member since 2009, Marion is a member of the Eastern Diversity Steering Committee, has served on the Eastern Directors Council and previously served as a chair of the Focus on Women Committee.

Associate Director Joyce Thomas
Thomas has worked at CBS for more than 30 years, joining the Guild in 1996 as an Associate Director/Technical Director in the Broadcast Operations Department and currently working as an Associate Director/Technical Manager at the network’s Media Distribution Center in New York. She has been elected to the Eastern AD/SM/PA Council nine times, serving three terms as Council Chair, and has also as 1st Vice Chairperson, 2nd Vice Chairperson, and Co-Chair of the AD/SM/PA 75th Anniversary Sesame Street event. Thomas is currently an Associate National Board Member, on her fourth term as a Co-Chair of the Eastern Diversity Steering Committee, and has served on three Network Agreement Negotiating Committees.

About the Committee:

Originally a sub-committee of the Eastern Directors Council, in 2020 the Focus on Women Committee (FOWC) was designated an official and permanent committee of the DGA National Board for women members residing in the Eastern Region.