Opening Doors  Diversity Networking Event

Opening Doors: A Diversity Networking Event

February 6, 2021 Hosted by the Eastern AD/UPM Council 2nd AD Committee

On February 6, 2nd AD DGA members from the Eastern region came together for the virtual diversity networking event, Opening Doors. Hosted by the Eastern AD/UPM Council’s 2nd AD Committee, the morning was an opportunity for participants to engage in ten-minute one-on-one sessions with several 1st ADs and Key 2nd ADs and join members of the Committee in sharing experiences of seeking out work as a 2nd AD. While the event was New York focused, there were session slots available for members from the Eastern Region interested in working in New York along with slots for members from Atlanta.

Following a welcome to the attendees, 2nd AD Committee Co-Chair Anastasia Folorunso broke down the structure of the event and introduced the 1st ADs and Key 2nd ADs who would be conducting the one-on-one sessions: 1st ADs Louis Guerra, Jason Inman, Brian Kenyon, Joe Reidy, Rebecca Strickland and Doug Torres; and 2nd ADs Scott Bowers, Eric Calatayud, Roxanne Paul and Connie Pierce-Winters.

As the breakout sessions began, attendees not engaged in the interviews were able to explore topics in the main room. In the first discussion, Getting the Interview, 2nd AD Committee members Chris Vendetti and Dana Zolli covered the topics of looking for work and how to build a resume. The second exploration, Doing the Interview, was led by Committee Co-Chair Arianne Apicelli and Committee member Rob Tierney and included proper interview decorum and what kinds of questions to expect and to ask. Committee members Arusha Baker and Steve Lafferty led the final group discussion, What Comes Next, that explored what comes after the interview, following up and what steps you can take if you don’t get the job.

About the Committee

The Eastern AD/UPM Council Second Assistant Directors Committee addresses issues that concern the members of this category and encourages dialogue amongst members in an effort to bring awareness, devise solutions to problems and continue education and growth. The Committee is co-chaired by Arianne Apicelli, Anastasia Folorunso and Jeremy Marks. The members include: Arusha Baker, Senica Billingsley, Alana Bonilla, Zach Citarella, Kailyn Dabkowski, Pam Giangreco, Eddie Griffith, Jason Hightower, Ryan Robert Howard, Rachel Jaros, Amrita Kundu, Steve Lafferty, Matt Lake, Cary Lee, Dan Majkut, Les McDonough, Jack McKenna, Kristina Peterson, Michael Reichman, Jeff Sedwick, John Silvestri, Rob Tierney, Woodrow Travers, Chris Vendetti and Dana Zolli.

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.