MTNs Reality TV

Meet the Nominees: Reality Programs

January 16, 2020 72nd Annual DGA Awards

On January 16, the Guild held its annual event for the DGA Award Nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs. Following introductory comments from DGA Reality TV Committee Co-Chair Bryan O’Donnell, clips from the nominated works were screened. Then nominees Hisham Abed (Queer Eye, “Black Girl Magic”), Jason Cohen (Encore!, “Annie”) and Ashley S. Gorman (First Responders Live, “103”), spoke briefly about their nominated projects. Afterward the attendees enjoyed a cocktail reception in the DGA Los Angeles headquarters atrium.

Nominees Jon Favreau (The Chef Show, “Hog Island”) and Patrick McManus (American Ninja Warrior, “1116 Las Vegas National Finals Night 4”) were unable to attend.

The winner will be unveiled at the 72nd Annual DGA Awards dinner on Saturday, January 25, 2020.

About the DGA Reality Television Committee

Formed in 2003, the Reality Television Committee seeks to address areas of concern that apply to directors and director’s team members working in this genre, and promote the DGA’s Reality Television Agreements so that members working on these shows may continue to enjoy Guild protections and benefits. The current co-chairs are Craig Borders, Bryan O'Donnell and J. Rupert Thompson.

Pictures & Video

photos by Elisa Haber

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.