Meet the Nominees: Reality Programs

January 24, 2019 71st Annual DGA Awards

On January 24, the Guild held its annual event for the DGA Award Nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs. Following introductory comments from Reality TV Committee Co-Chair J. Rupert Thompson, clips from the nominated works were screened. Then nominees Eytan Keller (Iron Chef Gauntlet, “Episode 201”) and Bertram van Munster (The Amazing Race, “It’s Just a Million Dollars, No Pressure”), spoke briefly about their honored projects. Afterward the attendees enjoyed a cocktail reception in the DGA Los Angeles headquarters atrium.

Nominees Neil P. DeGroot (Better Late Than Never, “How Do You Say Roots in German?”), Patrick McManus (American Ninja Warrior, “Miami City Qualifiers”) and Russell Norman (The Final Table, “Japan”) were unable to attend. The winner will be unveiled at the 71st Annual DGA Awards dinner on Saturday, February 2, 2019.

About the DGA Reality Television Committee

Formed in 2003, the Reality Television Committee seeks to address areas of concern that apply to directors and director’s team members working in this genre, and promote the DGA’s Reality Television Agreements so that members working on these shows may continue to enjoy Guild protections and benefits. The current co-chairs are Craig Borders, Bryan O'Donnell and J. Rupert Thompson.

Pictures & Video

photos by Trixie Textor

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.