DGA Student Film Awards


The 26th Annual DGA Student Film Awards
Application Period Is Now Closed.

Thank you to all those who applied. Good luck!

Winners will be announced in December 2020.

Each year the Directors Guild of America holds its annual Student Film Awards for African-American, Asian-American, Latino, and women filmmakers. The awards, which bring the winners prizes of $2,500 from the DGA, are designed to honor, encourage, and bring attention to outstanding minority and women film students in film schools and other select universities.

You can browse through a year by year history of the DGA Student Film Awards by clicking on the timeline below to view winners and photos.


2004 Student Film Award Winners

 2004 Student Film Awards


African American

East Coast Winner

Jowan Carbin of Columbia University for "Welcome to Life"

West Coast Winner

Kenneth R. Williams of the American Film Institute for "A Beautiful Life"

West Coast Honorable Mention

Nikyatu Jusu of NYU for "Say Grace Before Drowning"


Asian American

East Coast Winner

Alex Woo of NYU for "Rex Steele: Nazi Smasher"

West Coast Winner

Dong Hyeuk Hwang of University of Southern California for "Miracle Mile"



East Coast Winner

Carlos Gutierrez of NYU for "Sleight of Hand"

West Coast Winner

Anthony M. Puente of the University of California at Los Angeles for "Diego"

West Coast Honorable Mention

Alonso Filmeno Mayo of the American Film Institute for "Wednesday Afternoon"



East Coast Winner

Erla Skuladottir of NYU for "Savior"

West Coast Winner

Stacey Kattman of Chapman University for "Love Thy Neighbor"

West Coast Honorable Mention

Georgiana Gomez of Chapman University for "Tyrone Jones"

Brandon Goco
Manager, Committee Events
For more information please email:
DGA Student Film Awards - Eligible Schools

Click here to review the list of schools eligible for the 2020 Awards.