DGA Student Film Awards


For more than two decades, the DGA Student Film Awards have spotlighted dozens of African American, Asian American, Latino and Women filmmakers. Winners of the DGA Student Film Awards in each category will receive a $2,500 prize from the DGA.


1996 Student Film Award Winners

African American

East Coast Winner

Geoffrey Fletcher of Columbia for "Magic Marker"

West Coast Co-Winner

Vern Anthony of UCLA for "The Second Time Around"

West Coast Co-Winner

Jennifer Haskin-O'Reggio of USC for "The Mirror Lied"



East Coast Winner

Alfredo Rodriguez de Villa of Columbia for "Joe's Egg"

West Coast Winner

Maria Cortinas of USC for "Go West"



East Coast Winner

Krista Whetstone of Columbia for "William"

West Coast Winner

Ramona Diaz of Stanford for "Spirits Rising"

West Coast Honorable Mention

Karin Thayer of USC for "Seed"

Brandon Goco
Sr. Manager, Special Events & Diversity Programs
For more information please email:
DGA Student Film Awards - Eligible Schools

Click here to review the list of schools eligible for the 2020 Awards.