DGA Honors

DGA Honors

DGA Honors 2018

DGA Honors 2018On October 18th, entertainment, business, labor and politics came together in New York City during the Tenth DGA Honors gala. The evening celebrated the achievements of Director Ang Lee, Fox Searchlight Pictures Chairman Nancy Utley, Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), SAG-AFTRA Senior Advisor John McGuire and Costume Designer Ann Roth, with the ceremony held at the Guild’s theater in Manhattan, and a VIP after-party at famed eatery Nobu 57.

In his welcome to the audience, DGA President Thomas Schlamme spoke about the reasons for the celebration and why the honorees were selected.

“Tonight, we recognize the individuals and organizations that have made distinguished contributions to American culture through their commitment to our industry,” said Schlamme. “This is a very unique event – first inaugurated by our guild nearly two decades ago to spotlight the special inter-relationships between art, business, labor and politics. We are here to shine a light on the strength and greatness that’s emerged through these collaborations that have advanced our culture and propelled our nation as the longtime global leader in film and television. The hallmark of Honors is this special nexus – and the recognition of the individuals in each sector that have made a significant impact on our industry. Tonight, we honor the outstanding achievements of a filmmaker, an executive, a politician, a labor leader and an artist. They represent the best of us.”

Schlamme thanked the leadership of DGA National Executive Director Russell Hollander and Eastern Executive Director, Neil Dudich and their staffs, and acknowledged attendance of labor leaders in attendance — SAG-AFTRA’s Secretary-Treasurer Jane Austin and New York President Rebecca Damon, and previous DGA Honors recipients International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees President Matt Loeb and Theatrical Teamsters Local 817 President Thomas J. O’Donnell — before turning the proceedings over to DGA National Vice-President Vince Misiano, who also served as DGA Honors Chair.

DGA Honors 2018After thanking the vision of former DGA National Vice-President Ed Sherin for being the driving force behind the creation of DGA Honors, Misiano expounded on what the evening was all about.

“Although the DGA is a national organization, this event is held in New York, recognizing the importance of the City as a film and television production center,” said Misiano. “All of you here this evening are a testament to the continuing and growing success of production in the city and to the collaborative efforts necessary to make it happen. Directors and ADs and UPMs, are here sitting beside members of all the IA-represented crafts. Union leaders are sitting next to business executives.  Government affairs representatives are seated next to actors, writers and producers. In the final analysis, collaboration is the foundation of our success. That spirit defines the Directors Guild and it defines the DGA Honors—and we hope it will continue to do so long into the future.”

DGA Honors 2018The audience enjoyed a comedic monologue from DGA Honors Host Mike Birbiglia before actress Christine Baranski made the first presentation of the evening to Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) who was being recognized for her longstanding commitment to fighting for creators’ rights and safeguarding the content created by DGA members and the entertainment industry.

Former DGA National Executive Director and current DGA Senior Advisor Jay D. Roth and SAG-AFTRA National Executive Director David White presented the DGA Honor to SAG-AFTRA Senior Advisor John McGuire, who was being acknowledged for his nearly five decades of work on behalf of performers, and as a New York leader fighting for the rights of all industry workers and the health of the entertainment community.

Actress Meryl Streep presented the DGA Honor to Costume designer Ann Roth, who was receiving the accolade in recognition of her trailblazing career.

Actor Tony Goldwyn served as the presenter for the DGA Honor to Fox Searchlight Pictures Chairman Nancy Utley who was recognized for her longstanding support for independent film and directors’ creative visions and her extensive philanthropic efforts.

DGA Honors 2018In the final bestowal of the evening, actor Kevin Kline and actress Sigourney Weaver, who worked with him on the film The Ice Storm, made the presentation to world-renowned director Ang Lee, who was receiving the DGA Honor for his tremendous contributions to the industry as a pioneering filmmaker.

Following the ceremony, DGA Honors attendees enjoyed the VIP after-party at New York’s exclusive Nobu 57 restaurant.

Past DGA Honors recipients have included influential filmmakers Ron Howard, Nora Ephron, Robert Altman, Jonathan Demme, Milos Forman, Curtis Hanson, Spike Lee, Mike Nichols, Arthur Penn, Sydney Pollack, and Martin Scorsese; as well as leaders in entertainment, labor, and politics such as Law & Order creator/producer Dick Wolf, Saturday Night Live producer Lorne Michaels, Sopranos creator David Chase, HBO Documentary Films President Sheila Nevins, Robert De Niro, Danny Glover, Jane Alexander, former Paramount Pictures CEO Sherry Lansing, IATSE International President Matthew Loeb, former AFL-CIO President John Sweeney, Senator Charles Schumer, Senator Patrick Leahy, Senator Olympia Snowe, and Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

Past presenters and hosts have included Hank Azaria, Richard Belzer, Halle Berry, Dave Chapelle, Tom Cruise, Alan Cumming, Francis Ford Coppola, Ellen DeGeneres, Leonardo di Caprio, Matt Dillon, Jude Law, Helen Mirren, Julianne Moore, Gwyneth Paltrow, Sam Waterston and Oprah Winfrey.

We thank our DGA Honors Sponsors

Gold Tribute Sponsors: American Airlines • 20th Century Fox Film | Fox Searchlight Pictures | 21st Century Fox • Steven Spielberg & Amblin Partners • Haddad’s Inc. • Paramount Pictures • SAG-AFTRA • Theatrical Wardrobe Union Local 764 IATSE • Three Rivers Provider Network • Warner Bros. Entertainment •

Silver Tribute Sponsors: ABC Studios | Marvel Television • Bush Gottlieb, A Law Corporation • Creative Artists Agency • CBS Corporation • International Cinematographers Guild, Local 600 IATSE • Netflix •

Bronze Tribute Sponsors: AICP • AQR Capital Management • Bridgewater Associates, LLP • Cohen, Weiss and Simon LLP • Comcast NBCUniversal • Express Scripts • Henegan Construction Co., Inc. • I.A.T.S.E. • IngleDodd Media • Miller Kaplan Arase LLP • Motion Picture Association of America • Segal Consulting • Theatrical Teamsters Local 817 • Wells Fargo Bank •

photos by Marcie Revens and Ryan Jensen and Mike Coppola/Getty Images, Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images & Theo Wargo/Getty Images


To view photos and content from previous
DGA Honors, click the dates in the menu above.